Welcome Reception Address

Wednesday, March 24 | 6:15 - 7:00 p.m. ET

The Honorable Ted Cruz (R-TX)
United States Senator

Remarks: "One Vote Away: How A Single Supreme Court Seat Can Change History"

Plenary Session I - Textualism and Canons of Statutory Construction

Thursday, March 25 | 9:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. ET

Josh Blackman*
Professor of Law, South Texas College of Law, Houston

*This speaker will present virtually.

Post-Lunch Presentation - Clerkship and Career Advice: A Conversation with Two Appellate Judges

Wednesday, March 25 | 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. ET

The Honorable Stuart Kyle Duncan
Circuit Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

The Honorable Greg Katsas
Circuit Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the DC Circuit

Moderator: John Malcolm
The Heritage Foundation

Plenary Session II - Corpus Linguistics: Making Originalism Empirical*

Thursday, March 25 | 2:15 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. ET

The Honorable Thomas Rex Lee
Associate Chief Justice, Utah Supreme Court

James Heilpern
Counsel, Schaerr | Jaffe; President, Judicial Education Institute

*See resources tab.

Debate: Originalism vs. Common Good Originalism

Thursday, March 25 | 8:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. ET

Ed Whelan
Distinguished Senior Fellow and Antonin Scalia Chair in Constitutional Studies, Ethic and Public Policy Center

Josh Hammer
Opinion Editor, Newsweek and Research Fellow, Edmund Burke Foundation

Moderator: GianCarlo Canaparo
The Heritage Foundation

Plenary Session III - The Steps to Standout Legal Writing: Bench Memos, Opinions, and Dissents*

Friday, March 26 | 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. ET

Ross Guberman
President, Legal Writing Pro LLC

*This speaker will present virtually. Please see resources tab.

Post-Lunch Presentation - Supreme Disorder: Judicial Nominations and the Politics of America's Highest Court*

Friday, March 26 | 1:30 p.m. - 2:15 p.m. ET

Ilya Shapiro
Director, Robert A. Levy Center for Constitutional Studies, Cato Institute

*See resources tab.

Plenary Session IV - What I Wish I Knew Before My Clerkship?

Friday, March 26 | 2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Sherif Girgis
Former Clerk to Justice Samuel Alito and Circuit Judge Thomas Griffith

Tiffany Bates
Former Clerk to Circuit Judge Kyle Duncan

Megan Lacy Owen
Former Clerk to Justice Brett Kavanaugh, Circuit Judge Diarmuid O'Scannlain, and District Judge Sidney Fitzwater

David Rosenthal
Former Clerk to Circuit Judge Joel Carson and District Judge James Teilborg, and District Judge Benjamin Beaton

Moderator: John Malcolm
The Heritage Foundation